Sue Data Centers

Data Center Registry

SDC Umatilla Campus

Umatilla, Umatilla County, Oregon · All 11 Sabey Data Centers sites

Under constructionSupportedAI likelyRecord updated September 5, 2026

SDC Umatilla Campus is a data center under construction in Umatilla, Oregon (Umatilla County), operated by Sabey Data Centers. The public record puts it at announced September 2023, 150 MW planned, 60 acres. It has documented public support and no documented opposition.

Every line on this page traces to a public source listed at the bottom. Where a figure was looked for and not found, the row says so. A blank is never a zero.

Facility record

Under construction

Operator
Sabey Data Centers
Facility type
Data center, AI use likely
Location
Wanapa Road, Umatilla, Umatilla County, OR
Coordinates
45.9190, -119.3390
Power capacity
150 MW planned
Land
60 acres
Investment
Not established from a public source
Announced
September 2023
Utility
PacifiCorp
Power source
Mixed
Cooling
Hybrid
Water use
Not established from a public source
Jobs
Not established from a public source
Public subsidy
Greater Umatilla Enterprise Zone, 15-year property-tax abatement (county commissioners approved Aug 15, 2023). Terms: >=$200M investment and >=10 FTE at >=130% of county average wage; a $2M community-investment fee (hospital district + river trail) plus $85K/yr school and $58K/yr fire-district fees. Total abatement value not disclosed., Umatilla County, OR, 2023
Community reception
Supported
Source confidence
Reported by at least one credible outlet or filing

Timeline from the record

Newest first. Record entries come from the filings and reports the registry cites. Coverage entries are headlines from publisher feeds we monitor daily, linked to the outlet; last checked September 14, 2026.

  1. July 15, 2026
    Under construction
    Construction underway on the 714,540 sq ft, 150+ MW SDC Umatilla campus (Wanapa Road): work has been ongoing at the site since spring 2026 (rock excavation and blasting). The first of two data halls is targeted to go online April 2028. Source: Hermiston Herald
  2. September 2023
    Proposed
    Sabey Data Centers announced 60-acre land purchase in Umatilla; groundbreaking planned for 2024 (revised from Q1 2025 per DCD) Source: Data Center Dynamics

Opposition and litigation at this site

Not that we can document. Local officials or residents have expressed public support for SDC Umatilla Campus in Umatilla, Umatilla County, Oregon, and no opposition, petition, or lawsuit appears in the sources this registry tracks as of September 5, 2026. County commissioners approved the enterprise-zone agreement (Aug 15, 2023); the Port of Umatilla welcomed the project; the community-investment fee funds a hospital-district clinic and a river trail.

How the community has taken it

Reception is a sourced signal, not an editorial judgment: supported means local officials or residents have expressed public support and no opposition is documented.

County commissioners approved the enterprise-zone agreement (Aug 15, 2023); the Port of Umatilla welcomed the project; the community-investment fee funds a hospital-district clinic and a river trail. No opposition recorded. Investment estimates conflict ($520M per DCD, $950M per Commercial Search), estimates, not confirmed.

Source: Hermiston Herald

Power and water

Oregon grid is 40% renewable with 100% target by 2040. Sabey committed to net-zero carbon-free energy by 2029, 11 years ahead of Oregon's state target. JetCool Technologies liquid cooling pilot testing underway.

Sabey states it is "relying less on water-based cooling" for this development; a JetCool Technologies microjet liquid-cooling pilot is underway. No MGD disclosed.

Public money on the record

ProgramAmountGranted byYear
Greater Umatilla Enterprise Zone, 15-year property-tax abatement (county commissioners approved Aug 15, 2023). Terms: >=$200M investment and >=10 FTE at >=130% of county average wage; a $2M community-investment fee (hospital district + river trail) plus $85K/yr school and $58K/yr fire-district fees. Total abatement value not disclosed.Not establishedUmatilla County, OR2023

Notes on the record

Two-building, 714,540 sq ft multi-tenant campus. Groundbreaking originally Q1 2025, revised to 2024 per DCD; construction start as of July 2026 not independently confirmed. Investment figures conflicting across sources ($520M in one report, ~$950M in another); investmentUsd omitted. Coordinates are Umatilla city centroid. Planned capacity revised from 100 MW to 150 MW: the campus is described as designed to support more than 150 megawatts. Sabey's own materials give a more conservative "120 MW+", which is consistent rather than contradictory.

What the record does not establish, and the document that would

In every fight on our tracker the decisive fact came out of a public records request. These are the requests for this site.

  • Permanent jobs promised
Which document closes each gap
Permanent jobs promised
The economic development application or incentive agreement, which usually states a job commitment and a clawback.

Have one of these documents? Send it to us and we will add it to the record with attribution.

Our reporting on this site

Other sites within 30 miles

Distances are between recorded coordinates, many of which are a city or county centroid, so treat them as approximate. Cumulative load on one utility and one aquifer is the question a planning commission rarely asks.

Questions people ask about this site

Is there opposition to the SDC Umatilla Campus in Umatilla?

Not that we can document. Local officials or residents have expressed public support for SDC Umatilla Campus in Umatilla, Umatilla County, Oregon, and no opposition, petition, or lawsuit appears in the sources this registry tracks as of September 5, 2026. County commissioners approved the enterprise-zone agreement (Aug 15, 2023); the Port of Umatilla welcomed the project; the community-investment fee funds a hospital-district clinic and a river trail.

Has anyone filed a lawsuit over the SDC Umatilla Campus?

No lawsuit over SDC Umatilla Campus appears in the record we track as of September 5, 2026. Residents most often reach a lawyer over water supply, well drawdown, noise from cooling plant, property value, or a rezoning approved without the notice the ordinance required. If any of that is happening near this site, it is worth a review whether or not a case has been filed yet.

How much water does SDC Umatilla Campus use?

No water withdrawal figure for SDC Umatilla Campus is on record here. Cooling is recorded as hybrid, which is the strongest available clue: closed loop and air cooled plant draw far less than evaporative cooling. We leave the number blank rather than estimate one.

Who operates SDC Umatilla Campus, and how big is it?

Sabey Data Centers is the operator on record. We hold 11 sites for that company across the registry. Capacity on record is 150 MW. The site is recorded at 60 acres.

How to cite this page

SueDataCenters.org Data Center Registry, "SDC Umatilla Campus," updated September 5, 2026, https://suedatacenters.org/data-centers/sabey-umatilla-or.

Facility data from Compute Atlas (E. Kubiak), version 1.32.0 (September 7, 2026), licensed CC BY 4.0, record https://www.compute-atlas.com/facilities/sabey-umatilla-or, retrieved September 14, 2026.

Corrections with a public source are welcome at the Compute Atlas record or through our contact page. The whole registry is available as CSV and JSON under CC BY 4.0.

Sources for this record

As compiled and cited by Compute Atlas, with our own reporting appended. Archived links are used where the original has moved.

  1. 1.Sabey Data Centers Purchases 60 Acres in Umatilla, Oregon for 100MW+ Facility · Data Center Dynamics · retrieved July 6, 2026
  2. 2.Sabey Data Centers to Build New Data Center Campus in Umatilla, Oregon · Business Wire · retrieved July 6, 2026
  3. 3.Sabey Data Centers comes to Umatilla · Hermiston Herald · retrieved July 6, 2026
  4. 4.Sabey Data Centers picks Oregon · Commercial Search · retrieved July 6, 2026
  5. 5.714,000-square-foot data center construction under way in Umatilla · Hermiston Herald · retrieved July 18, 2026
  6. 6.HIFLD Electric Retail Service Territories (ORNL/DOE-CESER, 2023-08 vintage) · Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) / HIFLD · retrieved July 23, 2026
  7. 7.714,000-square-foot data center construction under way in Umatilla · East Oregonian · retrieved August 8, 2026
  8. 8.SDC Umatilla · Sabey Data Centers · retrieved August 8, 2026
  9. 9.SDC Umatilla campus page · Sabey Data Centers · retrieved August 14, 2026
  10. 10.SDC Umatilla, Sabey Data Centers location page (120 MW+ aggregate capacity, McNary Dam hydro, build timeline) · Sabey Data Centers · retrieved September 5, 2026
  11. 11.714,000-square-foot data center construction under way in Umatilla · East Oregonian · retrieved September 5, 2026

Is a data center disrupting your home?

Tell us what is happening. We will connect you with an independent attorney who handles data center cases in your state, free and with no obligation. These cases are commonly taken on contingency, so there are typically no upfront fees.

  • Free case review
  • Independent attorneys
  • No obligation

Attorney or law firm handling data center matters? Speak with us